Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

AVI Credit: http://mrandmrsdarcy.tumblr.com

Elizabeth: It is your turn to say something Mr. Darcy. I talked about the dance, and you ought to make some kind of remark on the size of the room, or the number of couples.

He smiled and assured her that whatever she wished him to say should be said.

Elizabeth: Very well. That reply will do for the present. Perhaps by and by I may observe that private balls are much pleasanter than public ones. But now we may be silent.

Mr. Darcy: Do you talk by rule then, while you are dancing?

Elizabeth: Sometimes. One must speak a little you know. It would look odd to be entirely silent for half an hour together and yet for the advantage of some, conversation ought to be so arranged, as they may have the trouble of saying as little as possible.

Mr. Darcy: Are you consulting your own feelings in  the present case, or do you imagine that you are gratifying mine?

Elizabeth: Both, for I have always seen a great similarity in the turn of our minds. We are each of an unsocial, taciturn disposition, unwilling to speak, unless we expect to say something that will amaze the whole room, and be handed down to posterity with the eclat of a proverb.

Mr. Darcy: This is no very striking resemblance of your own character, I am sure. How near it may be to mine, I cannot pretend to say. You think it a faithful portrait undoubtedly.

.

.

.

Elizabeth: I remember hearing you once say Mr. Darcy, that you hardly ever forgave, that your resentment once created was unappeasable. You are very cautious I suppose as to its being created?

Mr. Darcy: I am

Elizabeth: And never allow yourself to be blinded by prejudice?

Mr. Darcy: I hope not.

Elizabeth: It is particularly incumbent on those who never change their opinion, to be secure of judging properly at first.

Mr. Darcy: May I ask to what these questions tend?

Elizabeth: Merely to the illustration of your character. I am trying to make it out.

Mr. Darcy: And what is your success?

Elizabeth: I do not get on at all. I hear such different accounts of you as puzzle me exceedingly.

Mr. Darcy: I can readily believe that reports may vary greatly with respect to me; and I could wish, Miss Bennet, that you were not to sketch my character at the present moment, as there is reason to fear that the performance would reflect no credit on either.

Elizabeth: But if I do not take your likeness now, I may never have another opportunity.

Mr. Darcy: I would by no means suspend any pleasure of yours.

Enhanced by Zemanta
