Tags

, , ,

The movie opens on the beautiful mountains of Austria. Being a nature lover & travel buff the movie had me then & there! They could have shown me 3 hours of Austria and I wouldn’t have complained. And then comes Maria putting into words all that I was feeling.

The hills are alive with the sound of music

With songs they have sung a thousand years

The hills fill my heart with the sound of music

My heart wants to sing every song it hears

These are the most wonderful lines I have ever heard.

GIF Credit: http://swedishcosette.tumblr.com/post/70090095468/sound-of-music-meme-two-colours-green

I first watched Sound Of Music when I was a kid. Our teacher had taken us to the AV room where we had watched the movie sitting cross legged on the floor. The constant songs & the cold air had made me go off to sleep & I had only woken up when the movie ended. After almost 15 years I watched the movie again, this time sitting comfortably on my sofa.

Each & every song in this musical is melodious & a treat to the ears. Also, a person could never tire of watching all the wonderful sights of Austria, the hills, the rivers, the market, the square. The songs have simple words which are easy to understand yet convey a wealth of meaning. While all of them are hummable my personal favourite is “so long farewell” by the children. The kids are absolutely wonderful in this one. “My favourite things” comes a close second. For a person with two left feet when it comes to dancing, “I am sixteen going on seventeen” is special because of the beautiful dance. The eldest von Trapp daughter is a real beauty. The Baroness is nicely played by Eleanor Parker. She is not the typical other woman whose guts you hate. She is stylish, elegant & in fact all things nice. She just isn’t Maria. 🙂 I fell in love with Maria during her very first meeting with Captain VonTrapp. To tell a Captain to his face that whistling is for cats & dogs & not for children & definitely not for her…well, that sort of thing takes courage. Take a bow fraulein Maria! 🙂

The movie is a must watch, and not just once but many times over! This is one movie which pleases all your senses.

