As part of the search for a serial murderer nicknames “Buffalo Bill,” FBI trainee Clarice Starling is given an assignment. She must visit a man confined to a high-security facility for the criminally insane and interview him.

That man, Dr. Hannibal Lecter, is a former psychiatrist with unusual tastes and an intense curiosity about the darker corners of the mind. His intimate understanding of the killer and of Clarice herself form the core of Thomas Harris’ The Silence of the Lambs–an unforgettable classic of suspense fiction.

– Amazon

 


The book is one of those thrillers which is unputdownable. Once you start you just have to complete it. I haven’t read the previous book The Red Dragon, so Dr. Hannibal Lecter was completely new to me.

What I liked:

  • I loved the chemistry (I mean this in a non – romantic way!) between Clarice Starling & Dr. Hannibal Lecter. I loved their communications & the way Clarice tried to hide from him all the time. It was little surprise that he managed to unravel her deepest secrets since he is this psychiatrist of world renown, but their conversations were never boring.
  • Jack Crawford, the officer & the husband. A rare kind of man who feels so deeply, doesn’t shy away from his own feelings, who prioritizes everything perfectly & instead of choosing between his wife & a job, chooses to balance them both. A man whom I grew to respect. Rarely has any character been able to impress me in the space of a mere 400 pages.
  • I loved the brevity with which everything is described in the novel. There are no drawn out descriptions of the surroundings or the people. It is to the point.
  • Dr. Lecter’s escape was amazingly written
  • The whole idea of what we covet 🙂

What I disliked:

  • The police & forensic jargon. There were passages which I just couldn’t grasp & which left me wishing that the author should have used layman’s terms here. I hate missing out on the details.
  • There should have been more of Dr. Lecter. I would have loved more insight into his way of thinking.
  • I wanted to know more about Buffalo Bill too. His death was too sudden & it would have been nice to hear his mad ramblings under arrest.

Overall a must read. It was fabulous. Off to order the rest of the Hannibal series. 🙂

 

