Tags

, , ,

When her father unexpectedly passes away, young Ella finds herself at the mercy of her cruel stepmother and her daughters. Never one to give up hope, Ella’s fortunes begin to change after meeting a dashing stranger.

Cinderella (2015) Poster

I had been waiting to watch this movie for Richard Madden. Not that I am a fan but Richard is handsome & Cinderella is a beautiful story for girls of all ages. Put these two together & it is bound to be something nice.

What I liked:

  • Lily James: She is excellent as Cinderella. The sweet little girl with courage & kindness goes through hell & even then blossoms into a lovely young lady who falls in love with the Prince. Lily plays this delicate yet strong girl perfectly.
  • The animations: With a wave of her wand the fairy is turning pumpkins into coaches, animals into men & the plain & simple Cinderella is so transformed that no one can recognize her. That entire part is beautifully done. It is truly magical.
  • The gowns: Cinderella’s ball gown & her wedding gown had me in awe the whole time. The way her blue gown shimmered, as if in real fairy dust was magnificent. The wedding gown though very much toned down when compared to the ball gown was very elegant & completely suitable for a Queen.
  • Those glass slippers: Of all the versions of the glass slippers worn by the various Cinderellas I pronounce the ones in this movie THE BEST. For the first time I left my practical self behind & actually wished to own a pair of glass slippers that dainty.

That dress, those shoes! Such Perfection!!!

And then  there is this too

Credit: Tumblr

What I did not like:

  • Richard Madden: He doesn’t have much to do in this movie. He stands, he smiles, he mutters a few lines, he smiles & then he smiles again. And while Richard Madden’s smile is quite good, but even that didn’t appeal to me much. I liked the rugged, handsome Robb Stark much better than this lipstick wearing Prince.

^^^ This is nothing when compared to…

THIS

  • The movie bored me in parts. The start was too saccharine sweet for my taste. I was just waiting for the mother to die so the real story could begin. 😛
  • It has been years since I read Cinderella or even saw any of the movies, but isn’t Cinderella’s transformation from servant girl to princess supposed to be so complete that the Prince is unable to recognize her? While the Fairy Godmother casts a spell to protect her identity from her step mother & step sisters she hasn’t cast any similar spell for the Prince. And if the Prince knows this girl then why was the glass shoe needed at all? Isn’t a matching face more important than a fitting shoe?

 

While there are no major points I can criticize, this isn’t the sort of movie I will be rewatching. It was good while it lasted. It will soon be deleted from my hard disk. I guess you just need to have a kid with you while you are watching it so that you can absorb all their innocent enthusiasm for Prince Charming, magic & fairy Godmothers 🙂 Watching this movie reminded me of another version which used to play on TV every evening. I remember watching it with my granny. I especially loved its title track. The link to the Cinderella of my childhood here:

 

 

