Tags

, , , , , , ,

A Dogme film about an engaged couple that is torn apart after the man is paralyzed in an accident, and the woman falls in love with the husband of the woman who caused the accident.

– IMDb

Director: Susanne Bier

Cast: Mads Mikkelsen, Sonja Richter, Nikolaj Lie Kaas, Paprika Steen

Language: Danish

Open Hearts (2002) Poster

And I am back on the Mads Mikkelsen love & appreciation bandwagon 😉

What I liked:

  • Mads Mikkelsen: No matter how hopeless the movie, you can always like him. I mean, I will always like him. 😛 He is entirely edible as the doctor. Looks too good & gorgeous with those specs on. The character Niels though is utterly hopeless.
  • Nikolaj Lie Kaas: I loved him in A Second Chance, and I loved him here as well. He is a very powerful performer & makes you feel all the emotions the character is experiencing at that moment.
  • Stine: The little girl, though appears rude & insensitive at the start, is a really smart & intelligent kid. She learns of her father’s affair long before her mother suspects it. She is different from the usual angelic or know – it – all kids which are so common in movies these days.

What I did not like:

  • Neils: Niels is a middle aged doctor who falls for the fiancee of the man his wife hit with her car. The character as a whole is weak & disappointing. Niels is a selfish man who cares little for his wife or his kids. His love for Cæcilie is so great that he abandons his family for her. But in the end he ends up alone when she leaves him. A just ending! I am glad this wasn’t one of those movies which justify cheating & philandering husbands, all in the name of love. Also, Mads looked a little too young as compared to his wife.
  • Cæcilie: While I loved her initially for sticking around for her boyfriend Joachim I hated her for wreaking Niels & Marie’s home. It is very difficult for a young person to care for his paralysed partner. I would have supported her more had she had an affair with a single person. But when the movie ended all I was left thinking was that maybe breaking up Marie’s home was Cæcilie avenging her paralyzed fiance?

It is a good enough movie to watch on TV. Just not worth the hassle of downloading it & searching for English subtitles.

