Tags

, , , , , , ,

A man with a magnanimous spirit tries to take a young mute Pakistani girl back to her homeland to reunite her with her family.

-IMDb

Cast: Salman Khan, Kareena Kapoor, Harshaali Malhotra, Nawazuddin Sidduiqi

Director: Kabir Khan

Language: Hindi

Bajrangi Bhaijaan (2015) Poster

I have been avoiding anything with Salman Khan since Dabang. His bloated, drunk face & cheap antics held little appeal to me. So even when I got extremely good reviews for this movie I did not bother watching it in the theater. Finally I got a chance to see it on Star Gold today & I must say it is a fantastic movie. Salman may be the least innocent of men but he sure knows how to act like one, be it his many roles as Prem or Pawan/ Bajrangi in this movie.

What I liked:

  • Inspite of addressing the ever controversial India – Pakistan relations it is a light hearted movie for the most parts. Pawan aka Bajrangi is hilarious in his innocence while Shahida is a complete angel. The bonding between these two & their bonding later with Chand Nawab is beautifully shown by all the three actors.
  • It included the very much media – hated RSS which was a huge surprise. No one expects such things in Bollywood movies now. Another surprise was when Kareena’s father says the Pakistani girl cannot stay in his home. Reason: her countrymen kill my countrymen every day, why should I help her? I won’t comment on the right or wrong of that comment, but to even include such a thing in a movie requires courage. I am surprised the censor board didn’t cut it out to include at a later stage the “Pakistan Hindustaan ka chota bhai hai
  • It has many heart tugging moments towards the end as Government & bureaucracy once again ruin basic humanity. As Chand Nawab rightly says the hatred sells, love doesn’t.
  • There is always something to laugh about. There are a lot of serious moments but through all of them the writer & director have managed to bring in a certain lightness be it through dialogues, comedy or situational humour.

What I did not like:

  • The songs are utterly boring. You cannot remember a single song when the movie ends.

I have no other complaints about the movie. It is a must see for everyone. I hope Salman continues with such “class” movies rather than doing the utter classless roles he did in movies like Dabang.

