Tags

, , , , , , ,

What happens when two friends who have lost contact with each another meet again after many years? Do they pick up from where they left off? Well, things aren’t so simple for Anurag & Tanvi, since the last time they were together they were in love but today both of them are well settled in their lives with their own families.

Cast: Ankush Chaudhari, Abhinay Berde, Aarya Ambekar, Tejashree Pradhan, Hruditya Rajwade, Nirmohee Agnihotri, Urmila Kanitkar & others

Director: Satish Rajwade

Language: Marathi

Year: 2017

ti-saddhya-kay-karte-poster

*SPOILERS*

What I liked:

  • The Direction: It is no secret that I am a huge fan of Satish Rajwade. Even in this movie I loved how he has shown the Maharashtrian middle class. If I had to show a non – Maharashtrian what a Marathi middle class looks like I will take him to watch a Satish Rajwade movie. He just gets us right! Our homes, our manner of talking, body language, our belief systems, our culture, everything is spot on. He has an eye for talent as well & can bring out the best in anyone. This brings us to Abhinay Berde & Tejashree Pradhan.
  • Abhinay Berde: The Marathi movie industry might just have found its chocolate boy hero in this guy. He is a good actor, dances well, is energetic & has a pleasant personality. So all in all he would be great hero material, especially for the Mills & Boon type romances. I loved him in the ‘parikathetil parya‘ song. Great choreography & awesome dancing by Abhinay. His real potential is apparent when he stands out among stalwarts like Sukanya Kulkarni, Sanjay Mone, Ankush Chaudhari etc. He should plan his career well & not waste his talent playing naukar to the Khans like his father.
  • Tejashree Pradhan: I have hated this woman since Honar Soon Mi Hya Gharchi days. But in Satish’s able hands I could clearly see a great deal of improvement in her. I was so glad he had done away with her uncouth giggling for one! And then her portrayal of the grown up Tanvi was pleasant & all things nice.
  • The story & screenplay: This was one difficult story to narrate. It had a mature subject & needed careful handling. A little negligence on the director’s or the writer’s part  & the movie could have entered the mucky waters of infidelity making Tanvi & Anurag come across as shallow & cheap. But the team has managed to convey the complexities of human emotions with finesse & that is the strongest point of this movie.
  • Nostalgia: It felt wonderful to be taken back to the 90s. Yes kids, this is how we lived! My eyes welled up seeing the kids play hopscotch. Ah those days when we used to play like crazy, our knees always bruised from the falls we took, our clothes drenched in sweat after hours spent in the sun, our hands & feet dirty but our smiles intact. I was drowning in nostalgia when I saw a kid blowing soap bubbles, when Anurag bought a card at Archies, when the kids gobbled up the cotton candy, when I saw the old cassette player. How I miss those days. What wouldn’t I give to go back to my childhood.

What I did not like:

  • Aarya Amberkar: I think this girl is over rated. She is beautiful no doubt. As Pallavi Joshi used to call her she is still that “pretty young girl Aarya Ambekar”. But I do not like her acting AND I do not like her singing either. She should concentrate on modeling. With such a pretty face she will be a hit. But I do not think acting is for her.

It is a good movie to watch & this one was cheap on the pocket too. A Saturday evening show cost me just Rs. 100. Subtitles have been included & hence the movie can be watched by the non – Marathi speaking crowd as well. They won’t regret it for sure. Regional cinema is growing in leaps & bounds quality wise & should not be ignored by ardent movie lovers.

